top of page

This is How We Live Here

Here, we wash the dishes; after we use them we put them in the dishwasher, wash the counters after we party on them, clean the dirt off the white counters from our muddy winter boots; the abuse is profound, yet you wipe and it’s all clean; don’t take my liquor, I need it; cook your vegetables in your own pots; pay for the food you take; pay for the friends you have; when choosing friends, choose the ones who won’t leave you at the party, because you won’t hold up long on your own; soak in a bath, wash away the soft, hard touches of strangers and strange liquids which soak your straw hair; but where did you go?; always drink from my cup, never pour me more and try to walk like a lady when your parents’ divorce left you a bitter child, bent on choosing perfect men, who come second to work always, have you ever asked me how I am doing?, did you know trash cans full of tissues attract bigger, grosser tears; if I don’t get out of bed – food won’t end up on my plate; but I don’t want you to take care of me, I just want you to care for me; this is how to be a friend right now, though you can’t understand what’s happened, you can hem my shirt, save me from the shame; I know you are so bent on doing well, you don’t know how we are not doing well, because friendship doesn’t grow on trees, and healing doesn’t happen in one week; this is how you grow weed, you smoke it and it makes you laugh; if you laugh with me, we can feel safe again; but, weed is not safe, we are not safe; this is how you smile at someone who you don’t like very much; this is how you live with someone who you do not trust; this is how you get in bed each night, knowing the only thing between your heads is a thin white wall; this is how you smile with other friends; this is how you clean the counter after the pregame; this is how you put dishes in the dishwasher; this is how you walk home together.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page